Essentialist Approach and #tablessthursday

This week we were to watch James Hablin‘s YouTube video Single-tasking Is the New Multitasking and respond to the questions, ” is the Internet really a productivity tool or merely an endless series of distractions?  Has the Internet created a world of ‘multitaskers’ who don’t accomplish as much as they could have without it?”

My featured image is an example of my world. Twelve things on the go at all times. I watched my parents juggle raising four kids, working full-time and owning a business. I feel like that is the only example I know of how to do things. This morning, I fed my children while I unloaded the dishwasher, did laundry, ordered groceries online, let the dog out and talked on the phone. I realize that I have accomplished a large quantity of work, but what about quality? Did I miss the fact that I put away some dishes that still had food stuck to them? Was I actively listening to my phone conversation or more focused on one the other tasks? If I am truly being honest, I must say I wasn’t fully paying attention to the phone conversation.

This is how I feel daily when I am on the Internet. Especially when taking this course.  There is so much to learn and everything mentioned has peaked my interest. I find myself clicking on one tab, then a link or two, then another, and hours have gone by. I may have GAINED the opportunity to learn a bit about Genuis Hour, SeeSaw, Endless Alphabet, and Mentimeter, but I sure haven’t started the assigned readings or blog post I was supposed to write.

Six Windows 10 annoyances: How to make them go away for good0

mohanrajdurairaj Flickr via Compfight cc

There are only so many hours in the day and so much time that I can devout to class and being away from my family. So far this semester, I was not as productive with my time as I could have been. So is it the Internet that is to blame for the endless series of distractions? Have I been taught to use it incorrectly? Is my curiosity to blame? Perhaps it’s the love of learning that has me clicking on all those links? Am I unable to concentrate on one task? My concern when using the Internet, as Ashley Murray quoted one author on lifehack saying, is that ” (g)etting information from the net is like getting a cup of water, sitting under the Niagara falls. We certainly get a cup of water, the problem is that we also get far more than we need.” – Tejvan Pettinge

In short, I believe the Internet is a productivity tool that I simply misuse. I propose that society take more of an essentialist approach to using the Internet. Instead of #tablessthursday could society not participate in #everydayessentialism online? This YouTube video highlights essentialism.

Greg McKeown who wrote the Book Essentialism also states in his dowloadable one-page PD summary that “(o)ur highest priority is to protect our ability to prioritize.” Do you agree with that statement? Is the main problem society has online the ability to prioritize?

Let me  know your thoughts.

If you have time, check out my first ever infograph inspired by Noami.  https://infograph.venngage.com/p/163427/o-quote

5 thoughts on “Essentialist Approach and #tablessthursday

  1. Luke Braun says:

    Great insights Launel. I agree that it becomes a problem when students do not know how to use their time online. I know that personally that with 2 kids in the house, I have really had to be disciplined about time spent online. Our students certainly deserve to be taught the skills and tools necessary to properly prioritize their time online.

    Like

  2. warren3h says:

    Good post Launel. I agree that I misuse this internet as a productivity. I have also spent countless hours opening links that lead to more links, just to realize hours have gone by and I have yet to start the task I came on the internet to complete. This is concerning. This make me reflect on how I sometimes criticize my students for wasting time on the computer. Maybe I need to help them prioritize their work, but yet obviously technology makes that difficult for even us as teachers!

    Like

    • launelheinen says:

      Yes, I can’t count how many times students have been off task during research projects. I think if we identify if as a problem, they could come up with different strategies than we as adults have to stay on task. Wish I taught older grades sometimes still.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jaymeleelazorko says:

    Great post!! I really enjoyed reading your post as I was able to relate to the multitasking that was going on however if we would attribute more time to each individual task and simply focus on the task at hand would we be more successful? Would we get more out of it? I really liked your suggestion in regards to everyday essentialism, definitely worth a try!!

    Like

Comments are closed.